Did you know?
You can enroll in broker education courses at any time. Even if you don't meet the experience requirements to sit for the broker licensing exam yet, can begin earning education credits now. (You'll need 240 hours before taking the exam, so it makes sense to start early.)
So long as you take the exam within 10 years of the class date, you'll receive credit for it.
Additionally, by taking even one broker class during a license renewal cycle, you will have more than enough hours accumulated to meet the 14-hour continuing education obligation for your sales license.
How to get your Broker's License in Pennsylvania
Earning a broker's license in Pennsylvania requires a multi-stage process of accumulating education and experience.
Before signing up to take the broker license examination, candidates must have completed 16 credits (the equivalent of 240 classroom hours) in state-approved courses designed to prepare potential brokers. The REALTORS® Educational Institute offers many such courses in our classrooms and online. Click here for our Broker Tracker where you can check off courses as you go.
Agents at any stage in their careers may begin to take broker education classes in preparation for a possible license exam (or simply for personal enrichment). In addition to earning credit toward a broker's license, most of these courses dually fulfill the State's continuing education requirements for real estate salespeople.
Prerequisites for taking the broker license exam:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Hold a high school diploma or equivalent
- Have at least three years experience as a licensed salesperson. (You can take your classes before you accumulate your three years experience.)
- Complete 16 credits (240 hours) of commission-approved broker classes (no more than 10 years before your exam unless the courses were taken as part of a bachelor’s degree or a juris doctor degree.). Two of these classes must be Real Estate Law and Real Estate Office/Brokerage Management, which we offer here at REI- check our broker course offerings for upcoming courses.
- Have accumulated 200 "points". The Real Estate Commission awards "points" in both commercial and residential per completed sale, property management assistance, exclusive listings, leases and more. Print the broker's examination experience chart .
- Licensed applicants must demonstrate their experience by documenting 200 points using the following point system:
i. Sale (Commercial or Residential)…5 points
ii. Exclusive listing which sold (Commercial or Residential)...5 points
iii. Unsold exclusive listing (Commercial or Residential)…1 point
iv. Lease (Commercial)…5 points
v. Lease (Residential)….1 point
vi. Property Management Assistance (Commercial or Residential)….6 points/per month (Points are only awarded for full-time employment wherein no other points can be earned)
- Non-licensed applicants who gained their 3 years of experience in an exempt setting, such as attorneys and government employees, must document their experience on a detailed resume listing specific experiences in a combination of, but not limited to, the following: * Counseling in real estate issues or areas where the advice is not primarily legal in scope *Negotiations other than for legal issues *Sale, purchase, management or lease of real estate *If you are using experience as an attorney, an original Certificate of Good Standing from the Supreme Court must accompany your resume.
- If you held a active broker’s license from another state within the last 5 years, you must submit an original certification of licensure or letter of good standing from that state dated within 90 days of the date this application is received in the Commission Office. The certificate/letter: a. Exempts you from retaking the national portion of the examination in this state. Also, b. It may provide an educational exemption or credit. i. If the certificate/letter documents 16 credits/240 hours of education or that you have held an active license as a broker for more than 8 years. ii. If the certificate/letter documents less than 16 credits/240 hours of education, 2 credits will be awarded for each year of active practice as a broker in the licensed state.
The State examination:
To become a real estate broker, you must first be approved to sit for the broker examinations. In order to be approved to sit for the Broker examination, you must visit www.pals.pa.gov and submit the application for the initial broker license that you wish to obtain once you have passed your examinations. The application will require you to pay an examination fee and provide the educational transcripts, experience charts, and other documentation necessary to determine your qualifications. When you have been approved, you will be notified that you may register for the exam.
Examinations are offered daily (five to six days a week). The Candidate Information Bulletin (CIB) has a list of all local testing facilities. You may contact PSI Examination Services to obtain a list of out-of-state testing facilities. To receive a copy of the CIB, please visit www.psiexams.com
After passing the examination:
Once you have passed the exam, you can upload the passing score sheets to your broker license application at www.pals.pa.gov or request the exam company to send them electronically to the Commission.