appraisal banner 2000x400

Upcoming classes SBCREA approved and value priced.

No Upcoming Classes, Please Check Back Soon

Continuing Education & Renewal Info

Current Pennsylvania appraisers have until June 30, 2023 to complete 28 hours of state-approved continuing education.  A minimum of seven (7) hours must cover "Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice," and a minimum of two (2) hours must cover the Real Estate Appraisers Certification Act.

Certificates expire June 30 of every odd-numbered year.  The board mails renewal notices 2 to 3 months prior to the expiration date.  Notices are mailed to the most recent address the certificate-holder has reported to the Board.  The Postal Service does not forward licenses.

Appraisal Certification

If you are seeking initial appraisal certification in Pennsylvania, effective January 1, 2015, a bachelor's degree or higher is required from an accredited university or college. To become a certified residential appraiser, 200 hours of appraisal education approved by the Appraiser Qualification Board; to become a certified general appraiser, 300 hours are required. As part of the education requirement, the 15-hour national USPAP course or equivalent is required (the course must be approved by the AQB and taught by an AQB certified USPAP instructor who is also a state-certified appraiser). You may refer to the Pennsylvania Code under Title 49. Professional and Vocational Standards, Chapter 36. State Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers and the following links for some additional information and materials relevent to the qualifications necessary to become certified as an appraiser:

The Appraisal Foundation

PA State Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers
Appraisal Institute - Pittsburgh Chapter